a prophecy

My sister is visiting from up north. I tell her my rent is going up again. She says ‘I know, you told me last time I was here.’ But that was two weeks ago, and the letter that informed me is dated last Wednesday. She is adamant: I told her two weeks ago, in the kitchen; she remembers because she thought ‘they’re doing the same to us, same amount and everything.’

I have no recollection either of knowing earlier or of saying so, though when we talk about the figure and the way I said it, it feels familiar. It should do, though; it’s the same amount as last time. Clare doesn’t care; I said it, and I said it two weeks ago, and I was definitely talking about the immediate past or near future.

I snort; my eyes widen. The oracle must have spoken through me.

2 thoughts on “a prophecy

Leave a comment